Tuna Melts

Tuna Melts – Makes 4 Melts 

I really pondered whether to put this recipe on here – it is so simple to make that nearly didn’t bother. The turning point was when I was flicking through one of Jamie Oliver’s recipe books yesterday and he had a recipe in there for a bacon sandwich – no word of a lie. Now I think he’s a fantastic chef but there is only so much you can do with a bacon sarnie!

This was probably my most common meal at university as it’s so quick and cheap to make it left plenty of time for going out partying (I mean studying!). I used to make these for the whole house in exchange for not doing the washing up that day!

I usually choose BBQ sauce, but you can use tomato ketchup, mayonnaise or any sauce of your choice. Personally I think that mayonnaise is the sauce of the devil (it is made by Hellman’s so I think I’ve got a point), but it’s all down to personal preference which sauce you prefer. As it’s such a simple recipe I tried to ‘posh’ it up a bit, so I used bagels, but it works equally well on standard sliced bread!

Tuna Melts

Ingredients

  • 4 slices of toast (or bagels)
  • 100g can of tuna chunks / steak
  • BBQ sauce
  • 150g cheddar cheese, grated

Method

Step 1
Firstly, toast your bread (or bagels) until lightly toasted, then generously spread your sauce onto the bread, making sure you get right up to the edges.

Step 2
Split the tuna between the four slices of toast and squash down with the back of a fork, then cover with the grated cheese.

Step 3
Place under the grill for a couple of minutes until the tuna has heated through and the cheese is melted and all bubbly. Enjoy

Tuna Melts 1

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment